“Baserunning. I am telling you once you drop the bat, base-running is the most important thing as to whether you score runs or not,” ventures the TV broadcaster, as if he really knew from experience–or watching thousands of games. Maybe though, now that I think about it, the broadcaster speaks not from experience as such, I mean playing the game himself; but it is from something else, from another source, that this broadcaster has learned the truth and gained this insight. Because, most of us (sports fans) can readily calculate that, in reality, base-running is not the major factor in how many runs a team scores. It is important, sure, and can be the critical factor in a specific game–like the one we are watching!, giving in fact this broadcaster the opportunity to make such a claim. But overall, if you stand back, from the moment, in which a speedy runner scored all the way from first base on a looping fly ball, that he, that base-runner, could calculate was going to drop at the outfielders’ feet (such a good baserunner being equipped with just the right perceptual ability, in the moment, in the action, totally alive!, and making a split second judgement–or else he would have been a very bad baserunner)–overall, I say, and if you can resist being convinced by the broadcasters authoritorial voice, I say this base-running thing is, say, a twenty-percent factor in how many runs are scored. That is what I say, and I have watched alot of games myself, folks. And since games are more often than not won by more than one run, I could develop a strong position, that baserunning, while it certainly is exciting and a special skill that always needs to be mentioned by the sportscaster, focusing on the base-runner and his achievement, specifically, to get the due admiration of the viewer, who is myself and is really into the game, this game at this time, since . . . where was I? I was trying to figure out where the broadcaster got this idea at all, except from the lure of the spectacle of the moment. Baserunning errors can be disasterous, too, and lose you runs! Oh, I am just saying, subtract all the hype, and I am sure that if you put the heat on that sportscaster, as to just how much this blanket statement–which was, and I know I have gone on too long here: “Baserunning, I am telling you once you drop the bat, base-running is the most important thing as to whether you score runs or not.”– how much this statement is actually borne out by the facts, of the game as a whole, well, that broadcaster would then say with the exact same voice of authority, “well you know what it’s like, it seems true when you are caught up in it, and it is right in front of you.” Thus making him savvy, and wise, and an expert on human nature, to boot.

