It must be that it isn’t necessary to see the death in order to know a person is back from the dead. I mean it can’t be solely based on one’s having seen or heard about them dying, for that is relative and subjective. Instead the dead must have an aura, a whole new aspect about them at makes one know them, now that they have conquered death. Now that I have seen my father as resurrected, I know that this is what has happened to him. Is this too difficult? The recognition of such a resurrected person, can only be flimsily based on knowledge previously gained. What! You are astonished? But in the case of my father, it was the whole point, that he was resurrected; that is what we were discussing, in the dream as I have reported. He was doubtul as to how long it could last, this new life. From this I have concluded, I repeat, the dead must have an aura about them. Thus goes the further explanation.

And it will be longer, since he is not in this life, and days are rapidly passing. I will have to keep adding, keep explaining. He certainly had an aura, he was trembling with a new awareness, as if on the cusp of something impossible; and it is impossible, consequently, to describe, doubly so!, since he was, as I have emphasised, also the same person in all other aspects. All you could say is, he was more himself than ever. And struggling as such a description is–there is an astonishing implication to it. One could take this as indicating that he was, as a resurrected person, acceptable. What! Now this is really something, friends. How many of us are going to be able to say that? My father is apparently passing muster, in the next life. Well, this leads to a host of considerations, which I can hardly wait to get to.

(1) The premier case of resurrection, of course: the historical Jesus, come back as The Risen Lord. It is that resurrected Jesus that starts the religion, and maybe that is why everything in Christianity itself has an aura of retrospection about it. This certainly fires up the reflective soul! When Christ appeared to the Apostles, and others, that is what made them think back, as reported in the witness text, New Testament.

(2) On a more neutral, or secular plane of mere invention, like a novelist I might wonder: Would it be possible to have a person who is still alive come visiting you, say in the dream world, as dead; is time itself relative here in some way? Also, is this dream world, where I say I encountered and talked with my own father, the only milieu for encountering the dead? Equip yourself with this idea before you go up the street to Monty’s Krown. Half the people in the bar might be dead.

(3) Consider Phillip Bloy, the ghost, and hero of my novel THE BLUE SEDAN. He seems to be, at first blush, the unlearned exception to very revelation, that the dead are conspicuous. At least when I wrote the book, twenty years ago I didn’t put an aura around him. In fact I portrayed him just the way I have portrayed my father here, a man who was always in character and innocent of it; he doesn’t even know he is dead, until he reads about the car accident he was in, two hundred pages into the book! And even then he doesn’t know what to make of it, but just keeps driving. I borrowed my father to create this character, twenty years ago. How’s that for consistency, in one’s obsessions? On the other hand, maybe that aura does surround Phillip Bloy–he certainly has some protective shield, and gets his own way–fated as he is on his trip back into the past. Well, I could write notes to my own book endlessly–a more fruitful course than . . . worrying over why it isn’t published.

Miraculously, after tentatively establishing this colloquy with what I knew were at probably seven or eight readers, I am now caught in a whirlwind. For the numbers of readers, and demanding ideas are both multiplying rapidly now, clamoring.

